top of page
LTC or CHL?
What is the difference between CHL and LTC?
Beginning January 1, 2016, Texas Statue allows registered license holders to open carry in public. Because the law no longer requires your firearms to be concealed, Texas changed the licensing name from CHL (Concealed Handgun License) to LTC (License to Carry). See Texas Government Code Chapter 411.
What does Open Carry mean in Texas?
Open carry is only legal with a Texas License to Carry (LTC) or a concealed carry license/permit provided the handgun is in a shoulder or belt holster. The minimum age is 21 years old or 18 years old for active-duty military.
bottom of page